
Would it help to talk this through?
A certified counselor will go through your own numbers with you.
About FFEL Loans#
FFEL loans were made by private lenders under the Federal Family Education Loan Program, but that program no longer issues new loans. All new federal student loans now come directly from the U.S. Department of Education under the Direct Loan Program.
Standard Repayment Plan#
The Standard repayment plan for FFEL Stafford, SLS and PLUS loans gives a borrower up to 10 years to repay, and payments on all of a borrower’s FFEL loans must total at least $600 a year (about $50 a month), or the unpaid balance if that is less, unless the borrower and the lender agree to less.
Extended Repayment Plan#
The Extended repayment plan for FFEL loans is available to a borrower who owes more than $30,000 in FFEL loans and had no FFEL loan balance on October 7, 1998, or when taking out an FFEL loan after that date. It allows up to 25 years to repay.
Graduated Repayment Plan#
Graduated repayment is also one of the plans FFEL borrowers can choose from. It has a minimum monthly payment of $25 that increases over time until the loan is paid completely, and the monthly payment is determined by the debt amount.
Income-based Repayment Plan#
The Income-based repayment plan no longer requires a partial financial hardship. For FFEL loans it caps the monthly payment at 15% of discretionary income, with a repayment period of up to 25 years.
Income-sensitive Repayment Plan#
The Income-sensitive repayment plan for FFEL loans bases monthly payments on the borrower’s expected income and adjusts them each year. Stafford, SLS and PLUS loans must be repaid within 10 years; if the lower payments would not repay the loan in that time, the lender must grant a forbearance of up to 5 years of payments.
How Often You Can Switch FFEL Repayment Plans#
Lenders of Federal Family Education Loans are required to allow borrowers to change repayment plans at least one time per year. This is different from federal Direct Loans made before July 1, 2026, where a borrower in repayment can generally change to any plan they are eligible for at any time; for Direct Loans made on or after July 1, 2026, a borrower can switch only between the Tiered Standard plan and the Repayment Assistance Plan.
Comparing the Four FFEL Repayment Plans#
| Plan | Eligibility Requirement | Payment Amount | Repayment Length |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | Not stated | At least $600 a year in total (about $50 a month), unless you and your lender agree to less | Up to 10 years (Stafford, SLS and PLUS loans) |
| Extended | More than $30,000 in FFEL loans, and no FFEL balance on October 7, 1998, or when borrowing after it | Not stated | Not stated |
| Income-based | No partial financial hardship needed. | Capped at 15% of discretionary income | Up to 25 years |
| Income-sensitive | Not stated | Based on annual income, changes as income changes | Up to 10 years for Stafford, SLS and PLUS loans, plus up to 5 years of forbearance if needed |
What to Do Next#
If you are trying to decide between FFEL repayment plans, or you are not sure which one fits your budget, Cambridge Credit Counseling’s student loan counseling can help you choose or change a repayment plan, lower your monthly payment, and look at other federal loan options.
Common questions
What is the minimum payment on the Standard FFEL repayment plan?
Payments on all of a borrower’s FFEL loans must total at least $600 a year (about $50 a month), or the unpaid balance if that is less, unless the borrower and the lender agree to less, and FFEL Stafford, SLS and PLUS loans are repaid within 10 years.
Do I need a certain amount of debt to use the Extended repayment plan?
Yes. For FFEL loans you must owe more than $30,000 in FFEL loans, and have had no FFEL loan balance on October 7, 1998, or when you took out an FFEL loan after that date.
How does the Income-based repayment plan work for FFEL loans?
A borrower no longer needs a partial financial hardship to qualify. For FFEL loans the plan caps the monthly payment at 15% of discretionary income and allows up to 25 years to repay.
Can I switch FFEL repayment plans whenever I want?
No. FFEL lenders are required to allow a plan change at least once per year. This differs from federal Direct Loans made before July 1, 2026, where a borrower in repayment can generally change plans at any time.
Are FFEL loans still being issued to new borrowers?
No. FFEL loans are no longer made by private lenders. All new federal student loans now come directly from the U.S. Department of Education through the Direct Loan Program.
Where this information comes from
- Dear Colleague Letter GEN-25-04 and 34 CFR 685.209 and 682.215 (U.S. Department of Education) fsapartners.ed.gov Checked 2026-10-19.
- 34 CFR 682.209 and 685.208 (U.S. Department of Education) ecfr.gov Checked 2026-10-19.
- 34 CFR 685.209 (U.S. Department of Education) ecfr.gov Checked 2026-10-19.
- 34 CFR 685.210 (U.S. Department of Education) ecfr.gov Checked 2026-10-19.
- 34 CFR 685.102 and 685.209, and Federal Student Aid's Student Loan Default and Collections FAQs (U.S. Department of Education) ecfr.gov Checked 2026-10-19.
- 34 CFR 682.209 (U.S. Department of Education) ecfr.gov Checked 2026-10-19.
- 34 CFR 685.208 and 682.209 (U.S. Department of Education) ecfr.gov Checked 2026-10-19.
- Federal Family Education Loans (FFEL) | Cambridge Credit (Cambridge Credit Counseling’s own information). Checked 2026-08-04.
- Student Loan Debt Consolidation | Cambridge Credit (Cambridge Credit Counseling’s own information). Checked 2026-08-04.
- Student Loan Forbearance | Cambridge Credit (Cambridge Credit Counseling’s own information). Checked 2026-08-04.
- Direct Loans | Cambridge Credit (Cambridge Credit Counseling’s own information). Checked 2026-08-04.
- Federal Perkins Loans | Cambridge Credit (Cambridge Credit Counseling’s own information). Checked 2026-08-04.
- Why Seek Student Loan Counseling? | Cambridge Credit (Cambridge Credit Counseling’s own information). Checked 2026-08-04.
- Student Loan Forgiveness | Cambridge Credit (Cambridge Credit Counseling’s own information). Checked 2026-08-04.
- Credit Terms | Cambridge Credit (Cambridge Credit Counseling’s own information). Checked 2026-08-04.
- Student Loan Glossary | Cambridge Credit (Cambridge Credit Counseling’s own information). Checked 2026-08-04.
- Debt Snowball vs. Debt Avalanche | Cambridge Credit (Cambridge Credit Counseling’s own information). Checked 2026-08-04.
- Student Loan Counseling | Cambridge Credit (Cambridge Credit Counseling’s own information). Checked 2026-08-04.
- Debt-to-Income Ratio | Cambridge Credit (Cambridge Credit Counseling’s own information). Checked 2026-08-25.
